Latest Past Events

Everyday politics of class relations: Sub-contracting and Classes of labour in India’s building construction

Online

By Manish Maskara (SOAS, University of London) Online Webinar  21 March, 4:15 – 6:00 pm UK time Webinar recording available here: https://youtu.be/bCFiiMrtmkA Labour migration, both international and internal, has shaped the organisation of exploitation in enabling historical and contemporary forms of capital accumulation. For instance, the cases of South African migrant workers in the mines,…

Agrarian extractivism: what is it about and why does it matter?

Hybrid (Online & In-person)

By Alberto Alonso-Fradejas (Wageningen University) Online webinar & in-person seminar at Wageningen University (Room 68, Leeuwenborch building) and jointly hosted with UCL Institute of the Americas 12 March, 4:00 - 5:30 pm Netherlands / 3:00 - 4:30 pm UK time Webinar recording available here: https://youtu.be/6js-MGuc_lA The historical and growing global interest on natural resources for…

The political economy of the agrochemical complex in China

Hybrid (Online & In-person)

By Yunan Xu (International Institute of Social Studies) Online webinar & in-person seminar, at and jointly hosted with International Institute of Social Studies, The Hague 21 February, 10:15 am - 12:00 pm Netherlands time / 5:15 pm - 7:00 pm China time / 9:15 am - 11:00 pm UK time Webinar recording available here: https://youtu.be/0JDJ0u73xCk…