Changes in Journal of Agrarian Change’s editorial team

The editorial team at Journal of Agrarian Change are pleased to announce that Dr. Shreya Sinha, Dr. Forrest Zhang and Dr. Kees Jansen are joining us as editors.

Dr. Shreya Sinha, of Queen Mary University of London’s School of Business and Management, has published on the political economy of agrarian capital, the politics of agricultural markets and rural labour relations, and environmental dimensions of agrarian change in India. She has been a key part of the Journal of Agrarian Change’s editorial team for many years, as Book Reviews Editor and curator of the Agrarian Questions website.

Dr. Forrest Zhang, of Singapore Management University, is a leading scholar in the field of the agrarian political economy of contemporary China. His work includes land politics, the formation of agrarian capitalist classes, contract farming and social inequality. Forrest has worked closely with the journal as a member of the Journal’s International Board since 2015. He is the author of six articles in JAC, including the winner of the Bernstein & Byres Prize for 2015, and was a guest editor of the Special Issue on Agrarian Change in Contemporary China, published in 2015.

Dr. Kees Jansen, of Wageningen University, is a renowned scholar in the fields of agrarian political economy, political ecology, and agricultural and food technology. His current research focuses on the greening of the agrarian question (agro-ecology, food sovereignty, the conventionalization of organic agriculture). Dr. Jansen has significant research experience in a number of regions from Latin America to Asia. Kees has also been an active collaborator with the Journal, he is the author of five articles in JAC, and has been guest editor of the Special Issue on  Autonomy in Agrarian Studies, Politics and Movements, published in 2022.

Shreya, Forrest and Kees take over from Carlos Oya, Liam Campling and Bridget O’Laughlin, who after many fruitful years with the Journal are stepping down from their role as editors. The three are key figures in the history of JAC, and in its influence and contributions in the field of agrarian political economy. The Journal owes them greatly for their central roles in its  trajectory over the last two decades. We will miss working with Bridget, Carlos and Liam on a regular basis, but they will continue to work with the editorial team on the International Advisory Board, actively supporting the Journal and contributing as reviewers.

We are also glad to announce that Dr. Enrique Castañón Ballivian, JAC’s former editorial assistant and an indispensable member of the team for nearly four years, is the new Book Reviews Editor. Enrique is Lecturer at the Institute of the Americas at University College London. He brings expertise in agrarian political economy in Latin America. Carlos Muianga of SOAS, University of London and Amod Shah of the Institute of Social Studies in the Hague are joining the Journal as Editorial Assistants. Both are in the late stages of their PhDs, and have long-running research experience in agrarian political economy in Africa and South Asia respectively.

Liam Campling, Carla Gras, Kees Jansen, Jens Lerche, Jonathan Pattenden, Helena Perez Niño, Bridget O´Laughlin, Carlos Oya, Shreya Sinha, Forrest Zhang